MNPD 2020 Leadership Awards Recipients

Home » About MEO » Events & Information » MNPD 2020 Leadership Awards Recipients
October 16, 2020
The Maui Nonprofit Directors Association held its Annual Meeting and Leadership Awards via Zoom, installing the association’s 2020-2021 officers and recognizing its supporters. Judge Richard Bissen installed the newly elected officers, President- Cassandra Abdul, Vice President Nick Winfrey, Treasurer Sherri Dodson, Secretary Richard Carr, Immediate Past President Bevanne Bowers, and at-large members Debbie Cabebe, Marshall Norman, and Reverend Florentino Cordova.

The Maui County Fire and Safety and Police Departments received the Community Business Award, recognizing them for protecting life and property during the 2019 Wildfires. Due to their swift action and continued diligence many businesses and nonprofits were spared loss. Maui Economic Opportunity nominated the two departments stating, “Their response spared MEO potential damages and loss totaling approximately $6.9 million, impacting the more than 75 staff and 7,000 clients who relay on MEO Transportation.”

Judge Adrianne Heely was recognized as the Humanitarian of the Year. Nominated by The Friends of the Children’s Justice Center of Maui for the numerous hours she spends ensuring that children, parents, and those suffering from addiction are treated with compassion, empathy, and dignity. She offers alternative consequences for behavior and supports participation in empowerment programs, keeping families together. She also gives of her time, talent and treasury to various nonprofits.

Bevanne Bowers, Executive Director of Maui Mediation Services received the distinguished O’o Award as Maui County’s Outstanding Nonprofit Executive Director. She was nominated by MSM board member JD Wyatt stating, ” Bevanne is a true leader in every sense. She motivates an inspires board, staff, mediators, agency partners, and legislators, and focuses on agency impact and sustainability. She has expanded and elevated the agency’s services that are vital to the health of the community.”

The Maui Nonprofit Directors Association has been serving Maui County for more than 30 years. Collectively through the work of 63 members, the organization represents the shared experience and expertise of thousands of hours of community service and leadership. For more information visit


Humanitarian – Pastor Sarah Beckman- Big Brother Big Sisters of Maui
Ned Davis – MEO Head Start
James Geiger, Esq – Maui Family Support Services
Judge Adrianne Heely – Friends of the Children’s Justice Center
Harlan Hughes – Maui Mediation Services
Ashley Kanillio – MEO Youth Services
Edwina Wilson-Snyder – MEO Community Services
Wayne Wong – MEO Business Development Center

Maui County’s Outstanding Nonprofit Executive Director of the Year

Bevanne Bowers – Maui Mediation Services
Sanoe Ka’aihue – Women Helping Women

Community Business

Aloha International Employment – Big Brothers Big Sisters of Maui
Maui Fire and Safety, and Maui Police Department – Maui Economic Opportunity

2020 – 2021 MNPD Board Members

President – Cassandral Abdul- Na Hale O Maui
Vice President – Nick Windfrey – Maui United Way
Treasurer- Sherri Dodson – Habitat for Humanity
Secretary- Richard Carr – Hawaii Animal Rescue
Intimidate past president – Bevanne Bowers – Maui Mediation Services
At Large Members – Debbie Cabebe, MEO
Rev Tino Cordova – Iao United Church of Christ
Marshall Norman – Job Corps Maui

More News

MEO needs bus drivers in East Maui

MEO needs bus drivers in East Maui

East Maui drivers are needed by Maui Economic Opportunity to operate buses taking residents around the community and to Central Maui for jobs, shopping, health appointments and other events….